Thinking outside the bun and beyond the boring!

Visiting Taco Bell recently was a treat – not just for the taste buds but for the eyes too.

I thoroughly enjoyed the witty, humourous messaging that Taco Bell uses across everything at the restaurant – the menu, the packaging of the orders, the uniforms of the servers, the sauce packets and even the trash cans! Brightly designed wrappers (in true TexMex style!) cover almost all the food you order (unlike the Colonel and MickeyD’s boring butter-paper wraps!!) and these are such fun to read as each of them packs quite a punch besides the food!

Take a look at some of the lines I spotted:

BEAN BURRITO – I have bean everywhere!
NACHOS – Always share to avoid a gangwar!
CRUNCH WRAP – The easiest way to snuggle all flavours
CRUNCH WRAP – Go ahead confide in me, I won’t spill!
Dare the Volcano, cool it with a Mountain Dew
BELL FRIES – Everyone loves my company
FEEDBACK FORMS – Pick me up anytime, I’m free
TRASH BIN – Empty trash here, you anyway can’t carry it along!
SAUCEMAN – May the taste be with you

The sauces get even better. The Sauceman hands out packets of three kinds:
FIRE – I am the one your mom warned you about
MILD – Will you marry me?
MILD – Try me, I am innocent
HOT – Is it hot in here or is it just me?

Certainly fresh, fun, confident, different, and exciting! A great job of creating an experience around the visit.

Well done Taco Bell, for Thinking Outside the Bun, and how!



Sorry, I couldn’t get good pics, but here’s another personal blog that talks about a similar experience at Taco Bell with some more pics! – Samir and Upasna’s

    • Amit
    • January 27th, 2011

    Lovely concept, infact in our day to day life we keep missing these small things. And reading your blog makes me feel there is a story everywhere πŸ™‚ You just need to have an eye for it

  1. Well said Amit! There IS a story everywhere. The write in me spots it all the time. πŸ™‚ Thank you for visiting the blog.

  2. I noticed because my son is a big fan of the their food and the messages but I prefer your writing to bellfries, burritos, crunchwraps..it has more zest and freshness, miss! Keep writing:))

    • Nafisa Usmani
    • January 27th, 2011

    Very interesting… Its amazing how such small things which we generally miss out on, otherwise can make so much of an impact.
    Awesome… IS what it IS!
    πŸ™‚

    • Nikhil Nair
    • February 1st, 2011

    HEY TINA, Brilliant blog… Love the style of writing… way to go

    • Vidya
    • February 3rd, 2011

    Nice! Inspires me to pay them a visit.

    Hope the food was as good as the lines promised!

  3. Thank you all for your comments. Yes, plan to write some more for sure! Vidya the food was awesome – that’s why I said it was a treat was the taste buds πŸ™‚ I am definitely a fan… call me when you’re here, we’ll catch up at Taco Bell. What say?

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

